National Assembly Commission Confirms Ojo Olatunde As Clerk

National Assembly Commission Confirms Ojo Olatunde As Clerk

Olatunde assumed office in July after the commission queried Mohammed Sani-Omolori, the former clerk, for refusing to proceed on retirement after 35 years in service.

Sani-Omolori had argued that the eighth assembly had approved an extension of his tenure.

The conditions of service of the staff had been amended by the previous assembly, and the retirement age had been increased to 65 years or 40 years of pensionable service.

However, Olatunde was appointed as acting clerk.

In a statement on Friday, Ahmed Amshi, chairman of the commission, said Ojo’s appointment was confirmed at a meeting held on Wednesday.

“The National Assembly Service Commission at its 506th Meeting held on Wednesday 30th September, 2020, approved the confirmation of appointments of top management staff of the national assembly service with effect from 30th September, 2020,” Amshi said.

“The commission had on 17th and 20th July, 2020, appointed Mr. Ojo and the other management staff to their different positions on acting capacity.”

The commission also confirmed Bala Yabani as deputy clerk of the national assembly; Ibrahim El-Ladan as senate clerk, and Francis Akubueze as clerk of the house of representatives.

Others confirmed are: Yusuf Danbatta as secretary to the commission; Orunwase Osaze as secretary of human development; Ademola Adebanjo as secretary, legal services, and Ramatu Ahmed as secretary, human resources and staff development.


37 thoughts on “National Assembly Commission Confirms Ojo Olatunde As Clerk

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

%d bloggers like this: